life planning

Planning on going back to school is so damn exhausting. After a couple of weeks of planning, I think these are the schools I am looking at for my MSW, for the school year 2012-2013 (if we ever make it out of 2012!!):

University of Washington- St. Louis
University of Chicago-SSA
University of Washington- Seattle
University of Wisconsin- Madison
University of Kansas- Edwards Campus

Most of the application dates are December 1st, so I have a lot of work to do in the next couple of months. Namely getting reference letters and writing 100,000 essays. I was originally planning on getting my MSW/MPH (public health), but instead decided to just get my MSW due to the fact that that once I go back to school (as long as health care policy doesn’t get fucked), I’ll go back on my parents’ insurance. This will leave me 1 year where I won’t have to worry about insurance (until age 26) and if I got my MSW/MPH, it would take longer than a year to finish. So, we’ll see.

Considering I haven’t ever lived outside of Kansas or Missouri, I’m nervous. I have friends in many places, so that could help, but it’s sort of a lot to take in–finding a place to live, moving (again), how Alex feels about this, where will I get in (if at all?!), etc, makes it sort of an overwhelming idea. Which is why I’m starting the process in March of 2011. Any advice is much appreciated.

This entry was posted in social work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to life planning

  1. kaela says:

    If you decide to move far away lets have dinner and I’ll tell you all the things not to do….all of which I did when moving cross country. Hopefully you can learn from my disaster and it won’t all be in vain 😉

  2. Jody says:

    Meg,

    I am confident that you will do awesome at any of the places you have identified. You are very intelligent! I know there much uncertainty in moving on to a new phase of your life, but you will excel! Don’t ever doubt your strength!

    Good luck!

    Jody

Leave a Reply

