Slow Show

I love this song. It’s “Slow Show” by The National. I suggest highly checking out their album, Boxer (or all of their stuff!). It’s excellent. Especially this song, and the song, “Brainy.” If you click on the song names in this post, it’ll link you to youtube videos of the song. I find their lyrics devastating, and beautiful.

Standing at the punch table swallowing punch,
can’t pay attention to the sound of anyone,
a little more stupid, a little more scared,
every minute more unprepared.

I made a mistake in my life today.
Everything I love gets lost in drawers.
I want to start over, I want to be winning,
way out of sync from the beginning.

I wanna hurry home to you,
put on a slow, dumb show for you,
and crack you up,
so you can put a blue ribbon on my brain.
God I’m very, very frightening
I’ll overdo it.

Looking for somewhere to stand and stay.
I leaned on the wall and the wall leaned away.
Can I get a minute of not being nervous,
and not thinking of my dick.
My leg is sparkles, my leg is pins,
I better get my shit together, better gather my shit in,
You could drive a car through my head in five minutes,
from one side of it to the other.

I wanna hurry home to you,
put on a slow, dumb show for you,
and crack you up,
so you can put a blue ribbon on my brain.
God I’m very, very frightening
I’ll overdo it.

You know I dreamed about you,
for twenty-nine years before I saw you.
You know I dreamed about you,
I missed you for,
for twenty-nine years.

You know I dreamed about you,
for twenty-nine years before I saw you.
You know I dreamed about you,
I missed you for,
for twenty-nine years.

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

