summer reading

I’ve been reading a lot this summer. So far I’ve reread The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver), The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Milan Kundera), the His Dark Materials trilogy (Phillip Pullman). I’ve also read for the first time The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck) and Prodigal Summer.

Prodigal Summer is another book by Barbara Kingsolver, the same author who wrote The Poisonwood Bible. I’ve decided I really enjoy Kingsolver as an author, mainly because the female characters she develops are so unique, proud, and beautiful. They have characteristics that I want to employ as a woman; they have characterstics I already have as a woman. Their abilities to love nature and others is so beautifully descripted in her writing. I am overwhelmed with her literature, and have been zooming through the pages. I’m always on the hunt for strong female characters to relate to.

I need another book to read. If I don’t get any admirable suggestions, I might just pick up another Kingsolver novel. I guess I just love that I can get lost in her books.

This entry was posted in journaling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to summer reading

  1. Derek says:

    Read David Foster Wallace. Anything of his is good, but I especially recommend the literary nonfiction. Either “Consider the Lobster and Other Essays,” or “A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again” is a good place to start.

    Other than that, the new David Sedaris is out (“When You Are Engulfed in Flames”) and is Not Bad. Jo Ann Beard’s “The Boys of My Youth” is another good one, especially the essay “The Fourth State of Matter.” If you’re interested in collections of authors, I can recommend the Best American: (Short Stories, Essays, or Poetry, depending on your taste — They’re all in a series). This year, the fiction was edited by Salman Rushdie, who is a bit of a tool, but the stories are good anyway.

Leave a Reply

