for my new vegetarian ways:

Red Beans and Rice (From Cooking Light)

Ingredients

  • Rice (which I make in my rice cooker. I only make jasmine rice, because I am a rice elitest)
  • 1 cup (or whatever) frozen red, yellow and green bell pepper mix (or fresh)
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons salt-free Cajun seasoning (or more)
  • Italian Seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon Chipotle Tabasco hot pepper sauce (smoked jalapeños, it’s divine!)
  • 1 can dark kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • Frozen corn (or fresh)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Sauté everything. Add tomatoes and hot sauce and seasonings. Put over rice.

I know, my instructions aren’t that great, but that’s what I do! And it tastes WONDERFUL. If you guys have any wonderful vegetarian recipes, please pass them my way. Thank you!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to for my new vegetarian ways:

  1. keighty says:

    Megh! That does sound delightful. I’m going to give it a shot soon. In other news- have you tried calrose rice? It trumps all rices. Seriously.

  2. Brianna says:

    wow. you so smart. i am going to try this very very soon.

  3. tinako says:

    That looks good. I’ll give it a try.

    Since you asked, here is a recipe I particularly like: http://expandingcircle.wordpress.com/entrees/no-queso-quesadilla/

Leave a Reply

