a real update, wee!

Well, another semester has started. I can’t really say that I’m all that excited for it (Western Civ II at 9am!, good god), but I guess it’s something else I can get over with soon (hopefully). Actually, I’m excited for Social Work classes, because those classes always provide a plethora of information I didn’t previously know.

However, my PSYCH 333 (Child Psych) class is going to be hell. Let me tell you all about it. First of all, I read the teacher’s ratemyprofessor.com reviews (Professor Patricia H. Hawley), and basically it said her class is really easy and she tries really hard to impress everyone. Hm, so I walk in, and we all get colored pieces of paper (pretty much I’m already not amused). Turns out, this is how we’re seated: by color. Absurd. I’m pale green, if you were wondering (there’s also a fluorescent green, pink, orange, purple, yellow, and blue). And then, get this, she tells us we get extra credit for coming to class. 1/2 point for every lecture we attend. Please, lady, you just GAVE away that your class is worthless. I mean, while I appreciate it: who the fuck does that?!

Also, my Western Civ II teacher is weird. Wears a long, dirty trench coat, with army pants, big belly, and long disgusting hair. Also, a voice that’s WAY too high for what it should be. He looks like that weird misfit kid in high school…only now he’s grading your papers and giving you tests, at 9 am. Awesome.

I’m making soup for dinner! It’s a variation on Olive Garden’s Zuppa Toscana. I based my recipe loosely on this one.

Italian Sausage, Spinach and White Bean Soup

Ingredients

-1 lb frozen spinach
-1.5 cartons of organic chicken stock
-Approximately 3 links of Italian Sausage, casing removed
-2 cans of cannellini beans
-4 cloves of garlic
-About half a package of crimini mushrooms (baby portabella)
-1/2 red onion
-Salt & pepper to taste
-Italian Seasoning

Preparation

1. Heat oil in a heavy bottomed dutch oven/pot.
2. Add onion, garlic, mushrooms, and italian sausage.
3. Saute.
4. Drain beans and thaw spinach (in microwave is fine).
5. Add beans, spinach, and chicken stock to onion, garlic, mushrooms, and italian sausage mixture.
6. Add seasonings to taste.
7. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.
8. Cover and simmer on low for 20-30 minutes (or longer).

I haven’t eaten yet, but I’m afraid it’ll need more salt. But as long as that’s the only issue, I’ll be okay!

We ate it. It was perfect! It received the Alex Seal-Of-Approval (few things don’t, though).

This entry was posted in food, journaling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

