New Beginnings

I’m miles from where you are,
I lay down on the cold ground.
I, I pray that something picks me up
And sets me down in your warm arms.

I’ve always been one for new beginnings. Now, we all know that blogging has been hip fashion for quite a while now, and let’s be honest, I’ve had more than my share of them. However, as of late, I’ve really been interested in restarting one. Firstly because I think it’d help me begin writing again, and secondly because I, too, would like to attempt at being hip again (shhh).

So, I guess I should do a brief update on how I’ve been doing as of late, which entails…LISTS (who isn’t a sucker for a good list?)

As of Late

1. I was requested by my mother to get a good picture of Alex and I, to show my grandmother back home. However, it was on a sort of depressing premise (she’s going blind, and would like to see us before she can’t anymore). Anyway, the result of which was the most hilarious of photo shoots, in which Alex compared himself to Clint Eastwood, and there was uproarious laughter all around.

n16815082_36321511_3065.jpg h.jpg n16815082_36321380_3328.jpg

2. I’ve been sort of teaching myself to cook and I have firmly mastered the George Foreman Grill and pasta. Other meals to come soon, I hope. But I make a mean ol’ pasta with garlic, baby portabella mushrooms, onions, and egg. Sort of a vegetarian carbonara, if you will.

3. I had the best time Christmas shopping (though I spent a buttload). I bought my mom Burberry Weekend purfume, my dad a Kenneth Cole leather wallet, my sister a series of books by Joan Lowry Nixon including The Weekend was Murder!. They were silly but entertaining books I read as a middle schooler (because I was, apparently, lame). I also bought her A Separate Peace, by John Knowles, because I loved it so much when I was her age. Alex was given a subscription to Outdoor Photographer and a Moleskine notebook, while Lyndsey received this amazing toy where you get to dig up dinosaur bones, and then build a T-Rex!

I think that might be enough for tonight. I’m not a very interesting person, as of late, and I’d like to be able to leave more to write in these entries sooner or later. To anyone who might actually read this, Happy Holidays if I don’t see you. If you happen to be from Manhattan, I’m here until Wednesday morning, but I hear it’s going to snow four inches, so I don’t know how easy it’ll be to go out.

This entry was posted in journaling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Beginnings

  1. Alina says:

    You two are too cute. Call me some day.

Leave a Reply

